Club News‎ > ‎

GAA Handball National All-Star Award Winners For 2012

posted 24 Feb 2013, 09:53 by Unknown user

GAA Handball National All-Star Award Winners 2012


GAA Handball Ireland, following the announcement of the 2012 Provincial Award winners who went forward as nominees for the National All-Star award, can now officially announce the national award winners for 2012. The winners will be contacted shortly and full details announced in the coming week as to a special GAA Event in Croke Park which will see the National All Star Award winners presented and honoured.


CLICK to read on


2012 was unquestionably one of the most outstanding in the chronicles of GAA Handball with unprecedented success at the World Championships, while this very special event also highlighted the incredible input of our officials and volunteers. Overall there is no doubt that the selection process was one of the most debated for some time with so many having celebrated a fantastic past twelve months and not making the lists, but this is the high level of success currently been enjoyed by our sport in Ireland.


There was little surprise at the announcement of the National Male and Female Players of the Year awards, with Paul Brady and Aisling Reilly collecting the two major accolades in the players domain following their World Senior Singles championship triumphs, as well as US Open glory.


One of the most coveted awards, the Club of the Year, goes to the county of Armagh for the very first time, following a season when the highly progressive Lurgan Club picked up an unrivalled 12 World Championship medals. Add to that the fact that Charly Shanks (pictured) from the Clann Eireann Club, also picked up the International Player of the year following his impressive run in the US WPHR48 Pro Tour, which now sees him at number 1 on the US circuit.


The 2012 GAA Handball National All-Star Award Winners are as follows:


Player Awards:

Male Player of the Year: Paul Brady, Cavan

Female Player of the Year:         Aisling Reilly, Antrim

International Player of the Year: Charly Shanks, Armagh

Masters Player of the Year: Dominick Lynch, Kerry

Young Male Player of the Year:         Martin Mulkerrins, Galway

Young Female Player of the Year: Lorraine Havern, Down

Youth Male Player of the Year: Colin Crehan, Clare

Youth Female Player of the Year: Ciana Ní Churraoin, Galway


Official of the Year: Austin McKenna, Monaghan

Clubperson of the Year: Eugene Kennedy, St. Brigid's, Dublin

Coach of the Year: John O'Donoghue, Tipperary

Special Achievement Award: Aoife Kelly, Tyrone

Team of the Year: Kells Open Club Team, Meath

Hall of Fame Award: Paddy Lennon, Wicklow

Club of the Year: Clann Eireann GAA HC, Lurgan, Armagh


President's Volunteer Award: Mary Tully, St. Coman's, Roscommon